Johannesburg, South Africa

Johannesburg City Guide


Johannesburg is the largest city in South Africa, by population. It is also known as Jozi, Joburg, Joni, eGoli or Joeys, abbreviated as JHB. It is the provincial capital of Gauteng, the wealthiest province in South Africa, having the largest economy of any metropolitan region in Sub-Saharan Africa. It has a land area of 1,645 km² with a population of 4.435 million (2007). "Google"

The Central Business District is located in Sandton, 30 minutes from Johannesburg International Airport.

The dominant religion is Christianity while the dominant language is Zulu and English.

Johannesburg is home to The Cradle of Humankind, a World Heritage Site which contains a complex of limestone caves, including the Sterkfontein Caves, where the 2.3-million year-old fossil was found as well as the Apartheid Museum which showcases the 20th century history of South Africa.

Johannesburg has 4 seasons climates; Spring (August to October), Summer (October to March), Autumn (late February to April), Winter (May to July).



Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk